

801 Travis, Suite 1675, Houston, Texas 77002 Phone: (713) 356-0060, Fax: (713) 356-0067, E-mail: naesb@naesb.org Home Page: <u>www.naesb.org</u>

August 24, 2017

NAESB MONTHLY UPDATE CONFERENCE CALL

WEQ: UPDATE ON NERC/NAESB/EIDSN COORDINATION: Ms. York, Co-chair of the Wholesale Electric Quadrant (WEQ) Executive Committee, stated that NAESB filed a report regarding the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) BAL-004 Reliability Standards addressing Time Error Correction to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) in March. Additionally, NAESB filed a status report with the Commission regarding the Parallel Flow Visualization (PFV) effort on October 17, 2016. A thirty-day industry comment period concluded on August 9 for Standards Request R16008. Submitted by WEQ Leadership, R16008 proposes that NAESB consider the incorporation of several requirements applicable to Purchase Selling Entity (PSE) found in the NERC INT-004-3.1 Reliability Standard.

WEQ: UPDATE ON WEQ OASIS SUBCOMMITTEE: Mr. Wood, Co-chair of the WEQ OASIS Subcommittee, explained that the subcommittee is nearing the completion of the short-term preemption and competition recommendation. Upon completion, the recommendation will be posted for a thirty-day industry comment period and the subcommittee will hold a meeting during that time to answer any questions regarding the recommendation that the industry may have. Mr. Booe thanked Mr. Wood and Mr. Pritchard for the update and noted that the short-term preemption and competition is one of the last few annual plan items addressing FERC Order No. 890.

WEQ: NAESB CYBERSECURITY SUBCOMMITTEE: Ms. Trum, NAESB Deputy Director, delivered the WEQ Cybersecurity Subcommittee (CSS) update. She stated that the WEQ CSS will hold a conference call at the beginning of September to determine whether modifications to the standards are necessary to be supportive of the NERC CIP standards or any other NERC or FERC cybersecurity activities. As part of the review, the subcommittee will examine the recent Executive Order on cybersecurity, NERC Project 2016-02, and NERC Project 2016-03. Additionally, the participants will review the Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) Authorized Certification Authorities document for any needed modifications.

WGQ & WEQ: UPDATE ON FERC FORMS SUBCOMMITTEE: Ms. Trum, NAESB Deputy Director, stated that the FERC Forms Subcommittee is continuing its discussion on converting certain FERC forms from Visual FoxPro to Extensible Markup Language (XML). During the upcoming calls, the participants, including members of FERC staff, will outline the documents necessary to complete the project. Ms. Trum stated that the next FERC Forms Subcommittee conference call will be announced by the NAESB office in the coming weeks. Mr. Booe thanked Ms. Trum for delivering the update.

WGQ: WGQ CONTRACTS SUBCOMMITTEE: Ms. Mallett, NAESB Deputy Director, stated that the Wholesale Gas Quadrant (WGQ) Contracts Subcommittee held a face-to-face meeting on August 22, 2017 at the NAESB office. The group adopted the draft Mexican Addendum to the NAESB Base Contract for Sale and Purchase of Natural Gas. That recommendation is currently posted for a thirty-day formal industry comment period that will conclude on September 20, 2017. Mr. Booe noted that several NAESB contracts have been translated to Spanish and are now available to members as a benefit of membership and for nonmember purchase.

SANDIA NATIONAL LABORATORIES SURETY ASSESSMENT: Mr. Booe, Executive Vice President & Chief Administrative Officer, stated that the Department of Energy is sponsoring a surety assessment of the NAESB standards to be performed by Sandia National Laboratories. After the last report and recommendations from Sandia, the NAESB standards were quickly modified by the industry. Michael Desselle, NAESB Board Chairman, has reactivated the Board Critical Infrastructure Committee, co-chaired by Cade Burks and Dave Darnell, to monitor the activities related to security. Mr. Booe noted that the Board Critical Infrastructure Committee does not take specific action or make recommendations to the board on its own.



801 Travis, Suite 1675, Houston, Texas 77002 Phone: (713) 356-0060, Fax: (713) 356-0067, E-mail: naesb@naesb.org Home Page: www.naesb.org

REGULATORY ACTIVITIES AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING UPDATES: Mr. Booe delivered the regulatory activities update. The Parliamentary Committee continues to meet to discuss the term "majority" as it is used in the NAESB governing documents. The committee is also working on the NAESB Governance Documents 2.0, an effort to review each of the NAESB governance documents for consistency with each other and the Delaware General Corporation Law.

OTHER BUSINESS: Mr. Booe thanked the participants for dialing into the call and stated that any comments or suggestions regarding topics to be added to the agenda for the call should be communicated to the NAESB office.

NEXT CONFERENCE CALL: The next Monthly Update conference call will be announced by the NAESB office. The agenda and any work papers will be posted on the Monthly Update page of the NAESB website, accessible at the following link: http://www.naesb.org/monthly_update.asp. We hope you can join us. If there are particular topics you would like to see covered or if you would like to receive additional information, please contact the NAESB Office by phone at (713) 356-0060 or email at naesb@naesb.org.



801 Travis, Suite 1675, Houston, Texas 77002 Phone: (713) 356-0060, Fax: (713) 356-0067, E-mail: naesb@naesb.org Home Page: www.naesb.org

NAESB Monthly Update Conference Call, Participant List August 24, 2017 1:00 PM Central		
Rick Avila	Kinder Morgan	
Lindsey Bigelow	No Affiliation	
Todd Bohan	Sprague Operating Resources LLC	
Jonathan Booe	North American Energy Standards Board	
Chris Brown	Western Area Power Administration	
Jim Buccigross	Group 8760	
Lewis Campbell	No Affiliation	
David Canter	American Electric Power Service Corp.	
Pete Connor	Representing American Gas Association	
Chuck Cook	Chevron Natural Gas	
Michelle Coon	OATI	
Brenda Delgado	El Paso Electric	
Blair Fink	Georgia Public Service Commission	
Bob Harshbarger	Puget Sound Energy	
Bill Hebenstreit	SWN Energy Services Company, LLC	
Sheila Hollis	Duane Morris, LLP	
Linda Horn	Wisconsin Electric Power	
Gary Kravis	Links Technology Solutions	
Vanessa Kruse	NV Energy	
Larry Lackey	Open Energy Solutions, Inc.	
Elizabeth Mallett	North American Energy Standards Board	
Steven McCord	TransCanada Pipelines USA, Ltd	
Patrick McGovern	Georgia Transmission Corporation	
Stacey McPherson	Public Service Company of New Mexico	
Denise Rager	North American Energy Standards Board	
Sara Rogers	ONEOK	
Narinder Saini	Entergy	
Keith Sappenfield	Natural Resource Group, LLC	



801 Travis, Suite 1675, Houston, Texas 77002 Phone: (713) 356-0060, Fax: (713) 356-0067, E-mail: naesb@naesb.org Home Page: www.naesb.org

NAESB Monthly Update Conference Call, Participant List August 24, 2017 1:00 PM Central		
Name	Organization	
Ed Skiba	Midcontinent Independent System Operator	
Carolyn Stone	Cascade Natural Gas Corporation	
Robert Sullivan	California Independent System Operator	
Caroline Trum	North American Energy Standards Board	
Stan Wolf	Federal Energy Regulatory Commission	
JT Wood	Southern Company Services, Inc.	
Kathy York	Tennessee Valley Authority	