

# NORTH AMERICAN ENERGY STANDARDS BOARD

1301 Fannin, Suite 2350 • Houston, Texas 77002 • **Phone:** (713) 356-0060 • **Fax:** (713) 356-0067 **email:** naesb@naesb.org • **Web Site Address:** www.naesb.org

May 21, 2003

# NAESB AT A GLANCE: MONTHLY UPDATE

**FERC WHITE PAPER- WHOLESALE POWER MARKET PLATFORM (ISSUED 4-28-03):** Michael Desselle, Director of Public Policy for AEP and a member of the NAESB Board of Directors serving as the Vice Chair of the Wholesale Electric Quadrant, gave an overview of the white paper and the potential impact to NAESB standards development. The paper recognizes the memorandum of understanding reached with NERC, NAESB and the ISO Council, and notes that standards developed through this process could be included in the RTO and ISO tariffs to facilitate compatible and seamless rules across the interconnected power grid. The white paper indicates an increasingly flexible approach supporting regional differences which may impact standards development that both accommodate and emphasize regional differences. Similarly stressing seams resolution, the standards development efforts may have a primary focus on seams issues.

**SEAMS TASK FORCE:** Michael Desselle also reviewed the decision of the NAESB Wholesale Electric Quadrant to create a Seams Task Force. The task force has held one organizational meeting on April 28. The task force will begin its efforts by first compiling a catalogue of seams issues, and the efforts to date regarding those seams. Several of the ISOs, NERC, regional reliability organizations and other groups have been contacted regarding the creation of this task force, to ask for assistance and participation, and the response has been very supportive. Several groups have provided individuals to help with the effort – the end product of which will be a catalogue that all groups can use to go forward to determine what standards development efforts are needed.

**PROPOSED CREDITWORTHINESS STANDARDS RELATED TO PIPELINE CAPACITY FOR THE** WHOLESALE GAS QUADRANT: Rae McQuade, Executive Director of NAESB; Michael Novak, Assistant General Manager for National Fuel Gas Distribution and one of the co-chairs of the group developing the standards, and Jim Buccigross, Vice President of 8760 and Executive Committee chairman, reviewed the efforts to date regarding the proposed creditworthiness standards related to pipeline capacity. The Business Practices Subcommittee (BPS) of the Wholesale Gas Quadrant of NAESB prepared a recommendation of 24 proposed standards which were considered by the Wholesale Gas Quadrant Executive Committee (EC) on May 20. The proposed standards were characterized as "40% how to provide credit information" and "60% what constitutes adequate credit information." The BPS met in 19 multi-day meetings from November 2002 to April 2003 to come to consensus on the proposed standards. Sixteen organizations commented on the proposed standards, and those comments were also forwarded to the EC for consideration. The EC determined to forward the proposed standards to the FERC, along with the full record (minutes, voting records, comments, proposed standards) as the June 1 Progress Report. The meetings were transcribed and a list of available transcripts will also be provided. The EC did not endorse the proposed standards at this time. All noted documents are available on the NAESB web site.

**NEXT CONFERENCE CALL:** The next conference call is scheduled for June 18 at 2:00 pm eastern. We hope you can join us. If there are particular topics you would like to see covered or would like to receive additional information, please call or email the NAESB Office (713-356-0060, naesb@naesb.org).

#### North American Energy Standards Board Participant List May 21, 2003 1:00 PM CT

#### Name Sheila Ward

Judith Ikle

Lisa Robert

Kay Morice

16 Ron Liberty

18 Carl Évans

Name

James Buccigross

2 Tina Weatherman

3 Michael Phoenix

Terry Girbeck Cecilia Liang Nichol

Julie Voeck

12 Dan Klempel

13 Arthur Fusco

14 Ed Thompson

15 Felisha Friel

16 Lou Oberski

19 Cade Burk

21 Ed Davis

22 Jav Poche

17 Michael Gildea

18 Kathryn Burch

20 Melissa Lauderdale

23 Michael Robinson

24 Dona Gussow

26 Randy Young

28 Tom Gwilliam

31 Alan Johnson

30 Lee Smith

27 Chris Newcombe

29 Barbara Alexander

25 Tom Kilgore

10 Ruth Kiselewich

11 Steve Zavodnick

Steve Terelmes

Michael Desselle

Judy Ray

1

4

5

6 7

8

Q

1

3 4

5

6

7

8

9

Organiz	ation	
A 1 1	D 114	0

Alabama Public Service Commission 2 Donna Daugherty Bureau of Reclamation Brent Gokbuld California Public Utilities Commission California Public Utilities Commission Defense Energy Support Center - U.S. Dept. of Defense Jeffrey Conopask District of Columbia Public Service Commission Federal Energy Regulatory Commission John Williams Florida Public Service Commission Marsha Smith Idaho Public Utilities Commission 10 LouAnn Westerfield Idaho Public Utilities Commission 11 Chris Ericson Illinois Commerce Commission 12 Wanda Jones Michigan Public Service Commission 13 Nancy Campbell Minnesota Dept. of Commerce 14 Laura Anson Missouri Public Service Commission 15 Frank Perrotti New Jersey Board of Public Utilities New York State Public Service Commission 17 Robby Abarea Ohio Public Utilities Commission Ohio Public Utilities Commission 19 Jeff McGuire Ohio Public Utilities Commission 20 Annunciata Marino Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission 21 Dave Eichenlaub Virginia State Corporation Commission

#### Organization

8760 Inc. AGL Resources AIG Energy Alabama Power Align Power Alleghenv Energy Ameren Energy American Electric Power American Transmission Co Baltimore Gas & Electric Baltimore Gas & Electric Basin Electric Power Cooperative Central Electric Con Edison Division of Rate Payer Advocate Dominion **Duke Energy** Duke Energy Gas Transmission EC Power Edison Electric Institute Entergy Entergy FL Energy FL Power & Light Gulf Power Gulf South Inside FERC Iroquois Gas Maine Office of Public Advocate Midland Co Generation Venture Mirant

# North American Energy Standards Board Participant List May 21, 2003 1:00 PM CT

# Organization

Name	Organization
32 John Twitchell	Mirant
33 Sharla Barklind	National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
34 Michael Novak	National Fuel Gas Distribution
35 Barry Lawson	National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
36 Don <sup>°</sup> Benjamin	North American Electric Reliability Commission
37 James Cargas	North American Energy Standards Board
38 Rae McQuade	North American Energy Standards Board
39 Rae McQuade	North American Energy Standards Board
40 Jim Hartwell	Northeast Power Coordinating Council
41 Bruce Hayes	Ohio Consumers Council
42 Barry Green	Ontario Power Generation
43 Jim Hicks	Pacific Corp.
44 Lyn Maddox	Pacific Gas and Electric
45 Kim Van Pelt	Panhandle Eastern Pipeline
46 Bruce Balmad	PJM
47 Marty Mennes	Port of Power Light Co.
48 Kenneth Brown	Public Service Electric and Gas
49 Jeff Mueller	Public Service Electric and Gas
50 Ben Boyd	Reliant
51 Martha Duggan	Reliant
52 Theresa Hess	Reliant Energy Retail
53 Don Sytsma	RJ Rudden
54 Marjorie Perlman	Rochester Gas and Electric
55 Steve Cobb	Salt River Project
56 Yvette Camp	Southern Co.
57 Tony Reed	Southern Co.
58 Stan Mason	Southwest Power
59 Scott Helyer	Tenaska
60 Gary Jackson	Tennessee Valley Authority
61 Donna Scott	Transwestern
62 Mark Fidrych	WAPA
63 John Raiseller	WE Energies
64 Matt Lowry	Western Interstate Energy
65 Ron Mucci 66 Christopher Burden	Williams Williams Cas Pineline
66 Christopher Burden 67 Dale Davis	Williams Gas Pipeline Williams Gas Pipeline
68 Tammy Grant	Williams Gas Pipeline
69 Bill Bourbonnais	Wilsconsin Public Service Corp
70 Leslie Nishida	Wisconsin Public Service Corp
, o Lesne Mishida	mbenishi i ubile bervice oorp