

North American Energy Standards Board

1301 Fannin, Suite 2350 • Houston, Texas 77002 • Phone: (713) 356-0060 • Fax: (713) 356-0067 email: naesb@naesb.org • Web Site Address: www.naesb.org

January 21, 2004

## NAESB AT A GLANCE: MONTHLY UPDATE

**GAS AND ELECTRIC COORDINATION TASK FORCE ANNOUNCES FIRST MEETING:** Diane McVicker, senior principal analyst, Salt River Project, and one of four co-chairs for the Gas and Electric Coordination Task Force (GECTF), announced that their first meeting will be held at the offices of the American Gas Association in Washington, DC, on January 29 and 30, 2004. This meeting will explore common ground on the way the gas and electric industries operate including inter-dependencies and a focus on scheduling activities. Ruth Kiselewich, director of special projects and supplier services, Baltimore Gas & Electric, chair of the Retail Electric Quadrant (REQ) Executive Committee (EC), and chair of the GECTF's first meeting, read the Task Force's draft mission statement: "The GECTF is an ad-hoc task force reporting to the four quadrant Executive Committees. The GECTF is tasked with reviewing and investigating possible standards creation related to additional coordination of the interaction between the scheduling of electric, and gas transactions." Ms. Kiselewich also noted that the second meeting is scheduled for February 10 and 11, 2004, in San Diego, California.

**UPDATE ON OASIS EFFORTS:** Joel Dison, manager of market policy, Southern Company, and co-chair of the Electronic Scheduling Subcommittee (ESS), explained the three requests received for OASIS standards development: (1) to adopt a baseline business practice standards, (2) to implement new OASIS 1A business practice standards based on FERC Order 638, and (3) to develop new OASIS 2 business practice standards. He anticipates the first request for a baseline standard to be fast tracked and quickly implemented, as it reflects standards that are already required for federally jurisdictional entities in existing FERC orders. The second request, OASIS 1A, addresses modifications to the OASIS standards to make those standards more workable in today's market. The OASIS 2 request is a more comprehensive review of standards changes that will require significant time and effort. Monroe Landrum, manager operating systems, Southern Company, and co-chair of the Information Technology Subcommittee (ITS), told how his subcommittee has been working with ESS on both OASIS 1A and his subcommittee will also be involved in the development of OASIS 2 standards. In addition, ITS will work with NERC to develop similar standards for the market that address NERC's Critical Infrastructure Protection Action Group (CIPAG) recently released e-Marc report for comments, which focuses on the implementation of Public Key Infrastructure.

**UPDATE ON SEAMS CATALOG:** Steven Cobb, manager, transmission services, Salt River Project, and vice chair of the Wholesale Electric Quadrant (WEQ), summarized the process used to identify and categorize 134 seams issues during phase 1 of the Seams Subcommittee's efforts. He also cautioned against expecting 134 sets of standards and solutions since multiple issues will be consolidated into only a few standards, and many of the issues identified may not require standards development. The subcommittee is now recommending which organization, i.e., NERC or NAESB (if national in scope), or IRC (if regional in scope), particular seams issues will be assigned based on 6 consensus concepts. The NAESB/NERC/IRC Joint Interface Committee (JIC) will review the proposed assignments at its meeting in New Orleans on February 18 and 19. The Seams Subcommittee will begin the more challenging phase 2 of its efforts after this JIC meeting, actually drafting standards to resolve particular seams issues assigned to NAESB.

**New Request For Gas Quality Standards:** Dona Gussow, contracts coordinator, Florida Power & Light Co., and the author of this request reviving the former GISB effort to bring standardization to gas quality, summarized the results of the recent Triage Committee meeting. Her request was divided into three parts: (A) establish web-based reports for tracking all physical and chemical properties of natural gas defined in pipeline tariffs; (B) develop a uniform process, including the underlying assumptions and methodologies, for determining gas quality specifications from measured data; and (C) examine the need to establish gas quality specification standards and draft such standards as appropriate. The Executive Committee and the Board of NAESB will determine the disposition of this request. Ms. Gussow also noted that FERC has announced a conference on the topic on February 18, 2004. Dolores Chezar, KeySpan Energy, noted many other efforts that are ongoing in the area of gas quality specifications, especially with the increased interest in LNG – all of which may impact this effort.

**NEXT CONFERENCE CALL:** The next conference call is scheduled for Wednesday, February 11, 2004, at 2:00 pm Eastern. We hope you can join us. If there are particular topics you would like to see covered or would like to receive additional information, please contact the NAESB Office (713-356-0060, naesb@naesb.org).

## North American Energy Standards Board Participant List January 21, 2004 -- 1:00 PM CT

	Name:	Organization:
1	Diane Barney	New York State Public Service Division
2	John Bulger	National Energy Board of Canada
3	Wanda Jones	Michigan Public Service Commission
4	Annunciata Marino	Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
5	Marcella Matzeit	National Energy Board of Canada
6	Sheila Ward	Alabama Public Service Commission
7	LouAnn Westerfield	Idaho Public Utilities Commission
8	Karl Wunderlich	U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
9	Marilyn Adusei-poku	NiSource
10	Barbara Alexander	State of Maine Public Advocate
11	Don Benjamin	NERC
12	Bill Boswell	NAESB
13	Bill Bourbonnais	WPS Resources
14	Ken Brown	Public Service Electric and Gas Co
	Kathryn Burch	Duke Energy
	Yvette Camp	Southern Company
17	James Cargas	NAESB
18	Dolores Chezar	KeySpan Energy
19	Steven Cobb	Salt River Project
20	Pete Connor	NiSource
21	Dale Davis	Williams Gas Pipeline
	George Dawe	Duke Energy
23	Grace Delos Reyes	NARUC
24	Joel Dison	Southern Company
25	Andrew Dotterweich	Consumers Energy
26	Mary Edwards	Dominion Virginia Power
27	Heather Feingold	National Energy Marketers Association
28	Ollie Frazier	Duke Power Company
29	Arthur Fusco	Central Electric Power Coop
30	Terri Grabiak	Allegheny Power
31	Tammy Grant	Williams
32	Dona Gussow	Florida Power and Light Co
33	Tom Gwilliam	Iroquois Gas Transmission System
34	Jim Hebson	Public Service Electric and Gas Co
35	Sheri Heslington	Dominion
36	Nancy Hetrick	Northern Natural Gas
37	Gary Hinners	Reliant Energy
38	David Johnson	Systrends
39	Arlynn Kelleher	Entergy Services
40	Ruth Kiselewich	Baltimore Gas and Electric
41	Monroe Landrum	Southern Company
42	Barry Lawson	NRECA
43	Rae McQuade	NAESB

## North American Energy Standards Board Participant List January 21, 2004 -- 1:00 PM CT

	Name:	Organization:
44	Diane McVicker	Salt River Project
45	Sandy Murrey	We Energies
46	Marjorie Perlman	Energy East
47	Judy Ray	Alabama Power Company
48	Barbara Rehman	Bonneville Power Authority
49	Lisa Robert	Defense Energy Support Center
50	Alex Sarafin	NiSource
51	Howard Shafferman	Ballard Spahr
52	Lori Vanwest	Xcel Energy
53	Mark Ward	Los Angeles Water and Power
54	Jim Wilson	MidAmerican Energy
55	Charles Yeung	Reliant Energy